Leading up to next month’s observance of Cyber Security Awareness Month, the National Cyber Security Hall of Fame Monday named its first 11 members who will be enshrined Oct. 17 in Baltimore, Md.

The group includes inventors of Public Key Cryptography, Whitfield Diffie, Martin Hellman and Ralph Merkle, and the trio that invented the RSA algorithm, Ron Rivest, Adi Shamir and Leonard Adelman.

Diffe and Hellman began their work in 1975 and were joined by Merkle in 1976. Their 1976 paper, New Directions in Cryptography, which was published in November of that year, formed the underpinnings of secure transactions on the Internet.

Mike Jacobs, chairman of the HOF, said, “the [list of] honorees represent the innovators and visionaries who defined an industry and established the standards in information assurance.“

The HOF board received more than 200 nominations.

Here is the list of those chosen:

  • Dorothy Denning, professor, Department of Defense Analysis, Naval Postgraduate School
  • Carl Landwehr, editor-in-chief, IEEE Security & Privacy Magazine
  • Peter Neumann, Ph.D., principal scientist, SRI International
  • Roger Schell, president, ÆSec
  • Whitfield Diffie, Martin Hellman and Ralph Merkle, inventors, Public Key Cryptograph
  • Ron Rivest, Adi Shamir and Leonard Adelman, inventors, RSA Algorithm
  • F. Lynn McNulty, a Federal Information Systems Security pioneer was named to the 2012 class posthumously.    

Nominees were ranked and reviewed in five categories: technology; policy; public awareness; education; and business. Biographies for the 11 inductees is at www.cybersecurityhalloffame.com/

The nonprofit National Cyber Security Hall of Fame was established to honor those that helped create the foundational building blocks for the cybersecurity industry. The HOF's founding sponsors include: BAE Systems; BB&T; Citrix Systems; Convergence Technology Consulting; COPT; CyberCore; Cyber Incubator @bwtech; CyberPoint International; Economic Alliance of Greater Baltimore; Endgame Systems; Fearless Solutions; Koolspan; Lockheed Martin; Maryland Department of Business & Economic Development; Merritt Construction Services; Norman Data Defense Systems; Raytheon; Safenet; SAIC; SC&H Group; Susquehanna Bank; Trustwave; UMBC; UMUC; Venable and Whiteford Taylor Preston. 


* Required Fields