A week ahead of its first ever face-to-face meeting, the NSTIC Identity Ecosystem Steering Group (IESG) is already collecting a long list of participants.

The group will focus on creating policies and standards for the “identity ecosystem framework” outlined in the National Strategy for Trusted Identities in Cyberspace (NSTIC).

As of Aug. 6, there are 123 organizations and 42 individual members that have registered. The IESG group is open to anyone and there is not a cap on the number of participants.

The first meeting is Aug. 15-16 in Chicago. Members can attend online.

The diverse group of organizations include the World Privacy Forum, Visa, The Open Group, OASIS, National Association of State Chief Information Officers, MIT, Intel, Health Record Banking Alliance, Educause, and Amtrak. (see full list)

The group of private individuals includes consultant and identity expert Jay Unger, Internet2 director for middleware/security Ken Klingenstein, privacy/data security lawyer Scott David, Kantara Initiative executive director Joan Brennan and technologist/futurist/innovator Trent Adams.

IESG will be made up of 14 stakeholder groups that will create policies and standards. By-laws, charters and various management council delegates and a chairman will be agreed upon at the Chicago meeting.

IESG has online registration open for those interested in becoming members.

Two weeks ago, Trusted Federal Systems (TFS) was awarded a two-year, $2.4 million grant and named the official “secretariat” of the IESG, a position laid out in the NSTIC Charter. The secretariat is a sort of oversight committee that provides secretarial, administrative and logistical support to IESG.

(Disclosure: Ping is also a member of the IESG)


* Required Fields